Breaking Up is Hard to Do [in Korean]

Maybe it goes without saying that I apologize for the lack of updates. It’s especially embarrassing for me, as someone who blogs and digests marketing-related social media (“Content is king!” x 1,000,000 4eva) for a living – I really should know better. But I might as well explain what’s been going on in my life, and how that affects KisstheGook.

In early January I broke up with my boyfriend. In the four and a half years we’d lived together, I had become pretty dependent on his computer as my own iBook G4 grew more and more decrepit and incapable of reading modern day web code. So when I moved out of our apartment and into a smaller room with a bunch of (awesome!) roommates nearby, I left behind convenient access to my WordPress dashboard in addition to our two rottweilers and most of my furniture. I’ll presumably be collecting my furniture and one dog once that lease is up later this summer.

I’ve been internetting with the Kindle Fire (more on this later) I bought to tide myself over until I can afford a new computer. Blogging – or any kind of extensive typing – on it is really frustrating. There is currently no good way for me to upload pictures from my digital camera.

In the interest of Keeping It Classy, I won’t go too far into the details of the breakup, but I will say that the ex and I are on good terms (after all, I’m still helping out with rent, utilities and dog care) and that the breakup was a long time coming. So while I did have a good cry about it (okay, several months of private crying) for the most part I’ve been able to maintain my composure since we officially called it quits.

I didn’t talk to my mom about the breakup until the past month, partly because I wanted to wait until I was no longer sleeping head-to-foot in the same bed with my ex, and partly because I didn’t know how to say it in Korean (other than “[MY BOYFRIEND IS NO MORE]”). My brother eventually broke the news to her. When I called to tell her I was coming to visit the following weekend she didn’t let on that she knew. Later, despite the fact that I usually came alone, she greeted me with, “[What, no boyfriend today?]”

So I confirmed to her, in probably very inelegant language, that MY BOYFRIEND IS NO MORE, and was met with a barrage of questions. It was frustrating because this was before I had found a stable new living situation so I didn’t really have any answers for her, though I was confident that I’d be able to work something out eventually.

Over dinner she probably noticed that I wasn’t gorging myself as I usually do. (Now that I’m single I have more free time to visit my mom in Flushing, so Korean food isn’t so much a novelty that I must shove as much of in my mouth.) She asked if I wasn’t eating as much because I was heartbroken. I said no to her in a sort of a snappy way, which ended the interrogation.

Later I realized that my mom may have been trying to bond with me over being single. Widowed for over 20 years, she’s pretty lonely. I don’t think she exactly took pleasure in my breakup, since my ex had attended many family functions at which he always ate enough to please her. However, I remember that when I told her about my sister’s breakup a few years ago, the tiniest of smiles did flash across her face.

2 Comments

Filed under Flushing, food, language barrier, mom

2 responses to “Breaking Up is Hard to Do [in Korean]

  1. I find it funny and surprising every time I hear the extent to which NO ONE LIKED MY EX-BOYFRIEND. Not one person.

  2. You know that episode of 30 Rock when Liz told that guy, “I like that you don’t have one weird little tooth”?

Leave a Reply

