Pre-Thanksgiving Pupdate

Though I’ve been hiding behind the excuse, “I’m too busy to blog! I’m dealing with, like, three hundred pounds of rottweiler!” a few things made me feel the need to at least dip in and give an update to those who prefer them in this format. (A few gentle reminders from my brother [who wants to start his own outdoors-themed blog] and a WordPress notification of a new comment from someone I don’t know IRL but whose blog name is a sweet Simpsons reference – that’ll do it!)

I have rehomed all six boy puppies, which leaves all three girls in my care. (I do not. get. why people didn’t want these girls!) One girl is spoken for; she’s getting picked up tomorrow. Next weekend, the other two are going to foster homes through this excellent animal rescue group based in New Jersey. Though the puppies are quickly growing beyond my means – and they totally need new permanent owners – I’m still not sure what the bitter : sweet ratio will be once they’re all out of my care. They’re good girls. (And if you want one, just get in touch with me before the 19th!)

Last time you saw them, they looked sort of like this.

Last time you saw them, they looked sort of like this.

Then they looked like this for a while.

Then they looked like this for a while.

And then they went through this long awkward phase where they were too active to photograph without flash, and they were always covered in their own poop anyway because they found it both delicious and comfortable.

And then they went through this long awkward phase where they were too active to photograph without flash, and they were always covered in their own poop anyway because they found it both delicious and comfortable.

They got a lot more fun to cuddle after they started going outside.

They got a lot more fun to cuddle after they started going outside.

And now they're all like this, and fully trained!

And now they're all like this, and fully trained!

The many-dogs to just-one-dog transition will be going on in the days leading up to Thanksgiving. My boyfriend will be going home for the holiday, so Penny may freak out over her loved ones are disappearing one by one. Thanksgiving dinner with my mother will have to be cut even shorter this year so that I can rush home and assure Penny that she wasn’t given up for dead. I may be overthinking this.

But! Though Thanksgiving dinner may be short, I guarantee that my blog coverage of it will be long… winded. Expect an Ahn family history of Thanksgiving, as well as pictures of one non-traditional turkey dinner.

Leave a comment

Filed under dogs, food, mom

Leave a Reply

