Yes, I’m lame but Look! A Dog!

Right, so yeah, I haven’t posted in a while, but for the 1.5 of you who are checking in, keep hope alive! I’m working on some technical issues so that I can start putting up more exciting content — like comics! My friends used to know me as the girl who drew comics and now they know me as the girl who used to draw comics. That’s really lame, so I’m going to try to fix that.

I was inspired to go back to comic-drawing after picking up Pop Gun War: Gift by Farel Dalrymple and Funny Misshapen Body by Jeffrey Brown. I have most of Brown’s other work; his writing is heartwrenchingly relatable, and his drawing is sweet and deceptively simple – there’s a good economy of line going on there. I picked up Pop Gun War because I thought it might be by the same guy who did this absolutely gorgeous comic/zine series titled Walkie Talkie. I was wrong about that – I was thinking about Nate Powell – but it still did not disappoint. The story is mysterious but gives a lot of credit to kids in a way, plus the buildings in the background are clearly based on ones I pass on a daily basis riding over the Williamsburg bridge. So there’s at least some suggested comic reading, in case you’re into that kind of thing.

To review: Sorry this blog sucks, hopefully it’ll be better soon, I’m getting my comic groove back (BTW if you’re the person to whom I lent my copy of Jeffrey Brown’s Clumsy, please return it!) and I have no new content really. For the time being, please enjoy one more picture of Dewey the Awesome Jindo:

What a good girl!

1 Comment

Filed under dogs

One response to “Yes, I’m lame but Look! A Dog!

  1. Dave

    Dewey looks like a twin to our dog. We’ve had DNA testing done and she is apparently a Jindo/Australian Shepard mix. Our dog, Cammie, has 1 1/2 blue eyes, otherwise I’d be pressed to tell it wasn’t our dog from the pics alone.

Leave a Reply

